The Drummer Boy of Shiloh

 

THE DRUMMER BOY OF SHILOH

By William Hodges

 

On Shiloh’s dark and bloody ground, the dead and wounded lay; Amongst them was a drummer boy, who beat the drum that day. A wounded soldier held him up, his drum was by his side, He clasped his hands, then raised his eyes,  and prayed before he died.“Oh Mother” said the dying boy, “Look down from heaven on me; Receive me to thy fond embrace. Oh take me home to thee.  I’ve loved my country and my God.  To serve them both I’ve tried.”  He smiled, shook hands.  Death seized the boy, Who prayed before he died.  Each soldier wept then like a child,  Stout hearts were they and brave;  The flag his winding sheet, God’s Book  The key into his grave.  They wrote upon a single board,  These words: “This is a guide  To those who mourn the drummer boy,  Who prayed before he died.”  Ye angels ‘round the throne of grace,  Look down upon the braves  Who fought and died on Shiloh’s plain,  Now slumbering in their graves. How many homes made desolate,  How many hearts have sighed, How many like the drummer boy, Who prayed before he died.

Drummer Boy by Nast

Drummer Boy by Nast

Leave a comment